Rape Culture

Sometimes the road to betterness is not always about activity. Sometimes it’s dealing with the truth and reality. Or empowering yourself by speaking the truth. Today I spoke my truth. Publicly. Although it was a very small portion to my post, I admitted publicly that I had been sexually assaulted. By doing so I am washing away the burden that I have carried around for 4 years, and placing it in the hands of our society. It is our society that needs to rightfully deal with these situations. Anyways, here is my post that I shared today:

Alright time to get real. This is not something I talk about often. And it’s definitely not something I talk about publicly. Why? Because it’s uncomfortable. Because people get squeamish and awkward. But it’s time to talk about it. It’s time for our voices to be heard… maybe making people uncomfortable will do this world some good. Here’s what I’m talking about: Brock Turner. Rape. And Rape culture. As someone who has endured sexual assault, and who’s abuser’s charges were lessened and hidden because it would taint his ‘honorable career” …It is infuriating, sickening, and extremely frightening to me that once again our judicial representatives have failed in serving true justice….that this product of Satan (aka Brock Turner) can do what he did and get away with it. If you think a 6 month sentence isn’t getting away with assault and rape, then you are part of the problem. People who believe he’s not completely at fault because she was drunk: YOU are part of the problem. The people who make rape jokes, sorry you are also part of the problem. And to the judge that was more worried about this monster’s future than that of the young woman who was so brutally abused… You sir, are absolutely the freaking problem. I have been following this case and every time I see it, it makes my stomach turn in knots. For me, it’s been a little under 5 years since my attack, and it still eats at me. I can not even fathom what this poor woman is going through. I hate that she is called the Stanford Victim, yet you see ‘Brock turner’ everywhere. This title dehumanizes her, likes she’s some sort of headline or statistic and that’s it. She has a name. I understand her name is not mentioned to protect her privacy, but how about we call her the #StanfordSurvivor. Let’s give her the power she rightfully deserves. The word ‘victim’ is such a reactive word. The word victim is defined: “A person harmed, injured, or killed as a result of a crime, accident, or other event or action.” The word survivor is defined as someone who lives through affliction; someone who continues to exist! This event DOES NOT define her; it does not make her who she is. His name is the one that needs to be forgotten, he should be only known as the Stanford Rapist and nothing more. His actions DID define him. It is time that we stand together and let our voices be heard. No more violence! These types of actions deserve the appropriate consequence regardless of the attacker’s “bright future” or their career or what ever excuses may exist. If they make that CHOICE, they must pay the price. I think it’s important that we use social media to bring awareness to these types of issues. The more we talk about this stuff…the more we can bring it to the light. We to need stop avoiding the subject so that we may deal with it accordingly.

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 10.27.37 PM

Leave a Reply

