I Want To Ride My Bicycle…

Since Queen sang about it, and I’m a fat-bottomed girl, I figured a spin class was the perfect place to really start this journey. The back yard work out was great because it pushed me and boosted my confidence, but it also catered to my anxiety by allowing me stay in my comfort zone by hiding in my own back yard.

The whole purpose of this blog is to push myself. To challenge myself. To create change with in myself.  So thats what I did, and will continue to do; Starting with Spin class.

Luckily my gym offers free spin classes! If you are a newbie like me, they ask you to show up to class 15 minutes early.  With loud booming music, an even louder instructor, and rows of stationary bikes…just walking into the spin room can be scary.

I think my biggest worry was that everyone would be in great shape, and then there would be me… this out of shape girl who’s sucking air and struggling to keep pace the entire duration of the 45 minute class. What if I can’t even finish the class!? What if I look like an idiot?

Oh …and did I mention that the bikes are adjustable? One might think– great! It can be tailored to fit anyone and make the work out more comfortable! Yeah… not this girl. My thought was… Crap…I have to adjust this thing?  So for the next 5 minutes I was moving the saddle (aka the seat) and the handle bars up, down, forward, backwards in all sorts of combinations and then climbing on and off the bike to see if it felt more comfortable. Let me just say no matter what I did, nothing felt comfortable. This probably has to do with the fact that the bike was still foreign to me, and I didn’t know what comfortable was suppose to feel like!

Finally I asked the teacher for help, and she helped me adjust the bike to the appropriate settings. She also let me know that the first class was going to suck, but that I needed to come to at least 3 classed before I made up my mind if I like it or not. Wearily,  I agreed and got on the bike.

LET THE CLASS BEGIN!

The class dives right in with upbeat music to get you pumped! The instructor guides you though different resistance levels to replicate hills. She (or he–mine was a she!) coaches you when to sprint and when to slow down, or when to sit or stand. Through out the ride, the instructor tells give you a range where your heart rate should be. This is really helpful because if you are below the range, it gives you motivation to push harder. If your heart rate is above the range, you can ease up a little bit.

The thing that I loved most about spin class is that even though the instructor  guides you and motivates you, YOU choose your intensity. You can add resistance as you get comfortable, and if you get too tired, you can drop resistance as well.

When the teacher had said the first class sucks, I was really lost as to why she would say that. I mean… don’t get me wrong; through out the whole class (especially during those uphill climes) you think… why am I doing this!? My Legs are going to fall off!  But after the class is over …I felt so GOOD! I was on cloud nine! I was so proud of myself. If you have ever pushed yourself to complete something, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

Then it hit me.

It has been about an hour after the class ended, and I now understand what the teacher was talking about! My legs feel like they are a million pounds and that’s not even the worst part! My booty is so sore and bruised from the seat! It hurts to sit! Like any normal person, I googled to see if this was a normal thing from spin classes- it is. Apparently you get used to it after a couple classes. That makes sense now why she said I need to try three. I am planning on going the next couple days! Ill check in again after my third class. 🙂

Do you guys have any experience with spin classes? Any Advice? Let me know!

As always,

Thanks for joining me on this journey,

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 10.27.37 PM

 

 

Leave a Reply

