52 WEEKS OF GRATITUDE: WEEK THREE

Happy Monday!

Today’s topic for 52 Weeks of Gratitude is: Family.

This topic is a little hard for me to write about, but I guess that’s what makes this  a challenge! I am not close with the majority of my family but that doesn’t mean that I am not grateful for what they have taught me. I think  being grateful for the things we have no control over, is that’s an important lesson we should all learn.

Whether it was with money or  with mental/behavioral disorders, My family has taught me what it means to genuinely struggle. Because I was immersed in their setbacks and challenges, I was ultra aware of other people’s similar situations. After doing some self reflection, I think I get a lot of my empathy from those situations I saw my family go through.

On a more positive note, my family also gave me some of my coolest –and nerdiest–  personality traits.

My dad is a total goof-ball. We have a million inside jokes and are always laughing. He is also one of the most loving, and caring people I know. I am so grateful that he is my dad. He has taught me how to love, forgive and to always have a little fun.

My Aunt (my Dad’s sister) is also a goofball. Growing up, she was always there to listen to me, and never treated me like a little kid. I am grateful that I had her around when I was a teenager, because I really don’t know where I would have ended up if I didn’t have an adult I could turn to.

My grandma. Probably the hardest person to write about because she passed away back in February. Just writing one sentence… and Im already tearing up. She was one of the most influential people in my life, and I don’t think I even realized it until she passed. My grandma taught me that a girl can go camping, shoot a gun, collect rocks, and be intelligent.  I will be forever grateful for  all of the camping trips, the summers at her house, the trips to marine world and all of the minutes I got to spend with her (although it will have never been enough).

I am also very grateful for the newest family in my life. My guy’s family. I have been around for about three years, and its amazing to me how much they have accepted me into their lives. I am grateful for the love they have shown me. They treat me like family, and I know if I ever needed anything, they would be there in a heart beat with no questions asked. I have never really been able to rely on anyone like that so its still mind blowing that these people who aren’t even blood, can just swoop in and treat me like one of their own. I am so thankful to have them in my life.

Lastly, I am grateful for my best friend. We have been friends for 15 years, and this girl was probably the closest thing to family that I had for a long time. She drives me insane and we bicker like sisters and I wouldn’t have it any other way. She keeps me on my toes, and continuously reminds me that life is for living. I love her to pieces. She is a big contributor as to why I started this blog, and she was the first person I told.

I am grateful for the people I call family.

If you know me personally, you know that I have ‘Ohana’ tattood on my wrist…Ohana Means family, and family means no one gets left behind or forgotten.

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 10.27.37 PM

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 5.57.58 PM

One thought on “52 WEEKS OF GRATITUDE: WEEK THREE

Leave a Reply

